NWS Education: Back to School Resources

Date Posted: July 11, 2016

Below is the list of education resources from the 2016 NWS Back to School campaign:

NWS/NOAA

Owlie Skywarn Facebook: www.facebook.com/nwsowlie

NOAA Education Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NOAAEducationOutreach

NWS Education Website, Weather-Ready Kids Page: www.weather.gov/owlie

NWS Careers and Opportunities: www.weather.gov/careers

NOAA National Severe Storms Laboratory, Meteorological Phenomena Identification Near the Ground (mPING) App: http://mping.nssl.noaa.gov/

National Hurricane Center game: http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/outreach/games/movncane.htm

NOAA Volunteer Options: http://www.noaa.gov/work-with-us/volunteer-opportunities

Owlie Skywarn’s Journal: www.weather.gov/owlie/owliesjournal

NWS Heat Saftey Page: www.weather.gov/heat

SKYWARN Spotter Program: http://www.nws.noaa.gov/skywarn/

SKYWARN Training Course: https://www.meted.ucar.edu/training_course.php?id=23

NWS Online Weather School, JetSteam: http://www.srh.noaa.gov/jetstream/

NOAA Education Resources: www.education.noaa.gov

NWS Seasonal Safety Campaigns: http://www.weather.gov/safetycampaign

Cloud Chart: http://www.srh.noaa.gov/srh/jetstream/clouds/cloudchart.html

Kids Corner Weather Experiments: http://www.srh.noaa.gov/bmx/?n=kidscorner_weatherexperiments

NOAA Games: http://games.noaa.gov/

Weather-Ready Nation Ambassadors: http://www.nws.noaa.gov/com/weatherreadynation/ambassadors.html

Latest Forecast Models: http://mag.ncep.noaa.gov/model-guidance-model-area.php

Local Weather Observations: http://preview.weather.gov/edd/

Owlie’s Weather Ready Activity: http://www.weather.gov/owlie/owlieactivity

Flat Owlie Activity: www.weather.gov/owlie/flatowlie

Local Climate Data: http://w2.weather.gov/climate/

National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) Climate Information: http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/climate-information

Owlie and Same Adventure Book: http://www.weather.gov/media/owlie/Sam%20and%20Owlie's%202016%20Book.pdf

Water Cycle Video: http://oceantoday.noaa.gov/watercycle/

Make your Own Water Cycle: http://www.srh.noaa.gov/srh/jetstream/atmos/ll_watercycle_craft.htm

NWS Publications and Brochures: http://www.weather.gov/owlie/publication_brochures

NOAA’s Ocean Explorer Online Modules: http://oceanexplorer.noaa.gov/edu/learning/player/lesson07.html

Tornado FAQ: http://www.spc.noaa.gov/faq/tornado/school.html  

NWS Lightning Safety Page:  http://www.lightningsafety.noaa.gov/

Partner Resources

Community Collaborative Rain, Hail, and Snow Network (CoCoRaHS) Science Activities: http://www.cocorahs.org/Content.aspx?page=education

PLAN!T NOW, Young Meteorologist game: http://youngmeteorologist.org/

The Nurture Nature Center, Flood Education: http://focusonfloods.org/educationalclassroom-materials-available

SOS Explorer™ (SOSx), Science on a Sphere Flat Screen Version: http://sos.noaa.gov/SOS_Explorer/

UCAR COMET Training Module: https://www.meted.ucar.edu/index.php

FEMA’s Ready.gov lesson plans and games: http://www.ready.gov/kids/educators

UCAR  MetEd Storm School Courses: http://www.meted.ucar.edu/emgmt/wxreadynation/launch.htm

American Meteorological Society (AMS) Education Program: http://www.ametsoc.org/amsedu/

GLOBE Story Books: http://www.globe.gov/web/elementary-globe/overview


Follow NWS on Twitter and Facebook for more back to school information, including additional content that you can share on social media.