Skip Navigation 
NOAA logo
Click to go to the NOAA homepage National Weather Service   NWS logo-Click to go to the NWS homepage
System Engineering Branch

AWIPS Counties [c_ddmmyy]

World View Image of all NWS Counties

To view an IMAGE of an individual area, click on the appropriate box below.

CONUS Alaska Hawaii Puerto Rico Virgin Islands Guam Marianas American Samoa

Description Valid Date Size (bytes) # Records Available Version(s) MDSUM Documentation
US Counties (CONUS/OCONUS) 5 April 2016 30,674,944 3376 Download Compressed shapefile 3d8a7540aaea83dd309765dc8cfbe93f Change History Metadata
11 August 2016 30,681,510 3376 Download Compressed shapefile E0EBE10ED9CA39743D2AF02900A6C2CA

File Specifications:

Naming Convention: c_ ddmmyy .shp/.shx/.dbf - where .shp, .shx, .dbf are the extensions of the 3 component files of the shapefile and .prj is the projection file.
Shapefile Type: polygon
Source: Census TIGER 2000 & DOT Time Zones
Related Web Page: County-Zone Correlation File


field nametypewidth,decdescription
STATE character2 [ss] State abbreviation (standard US Postal)
CWA character9 [wfowfowfo] County Warning Area (WFO Identifier), see NWS Comments
COUNTYNAME character24 County name
FIPS character5 [ssccc] FIPS Code
TIME_ZONE character2 [tt] Time zone assignment (DOT), see comments
FE_AREA character2 [aa] Feature Area (location in STATE) {nc,ne, etc., see comments}
LON numeric 10,5Longitude of Centroid [decimal degrees]
LAT numeric 9,5 Latitude of Centroid [decimal degrees]


Time Zones: Time zone assignments use the following codes:
 V   Atlantic Standard
 E   Eastern Standard (e = advanced time not observed)
 C   Central Standard
 M   Mountain Standard (m = advanced time not observed)
 P   Pacific Standard
 A   Alaska Standard
 H   Hawaii-Aleutian Standard
 G   Guam & Marianas
 S   Samoa Standard
Two letters appear for the ten (10) counties which are divided by a time zone boundary, which are located in the states of AK, FL, ID, ND, NE, OR and SD.

CWA Boundaries:
As of 16 October 2006, there are 24 counties "split" by County Warning Area (CWA) boundaries: AK(7), AZ(2), CA(11), ME (1), NV(1), NY(2), and UT(1) and 5 The CWA field contains two or three office identifiers in these (split) cases.

FE_AREA abbreviations: The field FE_AREA is populated for a number of states/offices now. As the remaining offices provide their definitions, this attribute will be updated accordingly. Two offices, RLX and EYW do not use these abbreviations, hence their data is left blank. Abbreviations are defined as follows:
 nn northern         ss southern         ea east
 ee eastern          ww western          er east central upper
 cc central          pa panhandle        eu eastern upper 
 ne north eastern    se south eastern    nr north central upper
 nw north western    sw south western    sr south central upper  
 nc north central    sc south central    wu western upper
 ec east central     wc west central     so south
 mi middle           pd piedmont
 bb big bend         up upstate
This county data is a NWS Specific county data set. This county data set differs from other county datasets in that certain counties although having the same FIPS code comprise of more than one polygon, each polygon having a different name in the countyname field. This was done in order to allow the forecasters at the sites to issue warnings to these separate parts of the counties. These counties are:

County Name Parts WFO
Monroe County, FL "Mainland Monroe" "Upper Keys in Monroe" EYW
"Middle Keys in Monroe" "Lower Keys in Monroe" EYW

    US Dept of Commerce
    National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
    National Weather Service
    1325 East West Highway
    Silver Spring, MD 20910
    301 713 0763 x 104
    Page Author: AMDC Webmaster
    Page Last Modified: 2 Ocober 2008

Privacy Policy
About Us
Career Opportunities