Skip Navigation 
NOAA logo - Click to go to the NOAA homepage National Weather Service   NWS logo - Click to go to the NWS homepage
Office of Hydrologic Development - header graphic


Survey Team Members and Itinerary

Survey team members serve on the basis of their personal expertise; i.e., they are not asked to represent the official position of their respective agencies. This report was compiled by a survey team composed of the following ten members:

Co-Leaders of the team:
(1) Edward R. Johnson, Chief
Hydrologic Operations Division
Office of Hydrology
National Weather Service
1325 East West Highway
Silver Spring, Maryland 20901
(2) Thomas H. Yorke, Chief
Office of Surface Water
U.S. Geological Survey
415 National Center
Reston, Virginia 20192
National Weather Service Members
(3) Donna Page
RFC Forecast Systems Group Leader
Hydrologic Research Laboratory
Silver Spring, Maryland
(4) Larry Jensen
Meteorologist in Charge
National Weather Service Forecast Office
Las Vegas, Nevada
(5) Robert Hartman
Hydrologist in Charge
California-Nevada River Forecast Center
Sacramento, California
(6) Andy Bryant
Service Hydrologist
Tucson, Arizona
(7) Janice Lewis
Research Hydrologist
Hydrologic Research Laboratory
Silver Spring, Maryland
NOAA Public Affairs Member:
(8) Barry Reichenbaugh
Public Affairs Officer (NWS)
Silver Spring, Maryland
U. S. Army Corps of Engineers Member:
(9) Jim D. Versteeg
Portland, Oregon
Consultant: Consultant:
(10) Roger A. Pielke, Jr.
Environmental and Societal Impacts Group
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Boulder, Colorado 80307-3000


Survey Itinerary

The field portion of the survey was conducted by nine of the ten members of the team over the four-day period May 27-30, 1997. Damages to the area around Grand Forks were so extensive that it was necessary to delay the start of the survey until hotel accommodations could be provided following restoration of water, power, and other infrastructure. Janice Lewis, who is the primary author of the hydraulic analysis, did not participate in the field portion of the survey. The survey team had an initial organizational meeting on Monday evening, May 26, and spent Tuesday, May 27, at the North Central River Forecast Center (NCRFC) in Chanhassen, Minnesota, and at the collocated National Operational Hydrologic Remote Sensing Center (NOHRSC). On Wednesday, May 28, two team members (Hartman and Page) continued meetings with the NCRFC and NOHRSC, while other team members met with the Minnesota Department of Emergency Management in St. Paul, the FEMA Disaster Field Office in St. Paul, and the St. Paul District Office of the U. S. Army Corps of Engineers. The team made an evening flight to Grand Forks, North Dakota, on Wednesday, May 28. On Thursday, May 29, the team was interviewed by local media at the Eastern North Dakota National Weather Service Office (call sign FGF) in Grand Forks, North Dakota. Meetings with the staff of the FGF office continued on Thursday afternoon as the team broke up into smaller groups to meet with a number of local officials. On Friday, May 30, three team members (Bryant, Jensen, and Yorke) flew to Bismarck to meet with the Bismarck NWS Forecast Office, the U.S. Geological Survey, the FEMA Disaster Field Office in Bismarck, and state of North Dakota officials including the North Dakota Water Commission and the Department of Emergency Management. Meanwhile, other team members continued meetings with local officials. Professor Leon Osborne of the University of North Dakota was also interviewed on Friday. One team member (Johnson) drove to Fargo to meet with Lou Bennet of the spin-down NWS office, with Dennis Walaker of the City of Fargo, and with Terry Lejcher of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources. The entire team reconvened on the evening of Friday, May 30, to review initial findings and recommendations and to discuss writing assignments for the draft service assessment.


Survey Contacts

A partial list of survey team contacts follows:

North Central River Forecast Center (NCRFC)
Chanhassen, Minnesota:
Dean Braatz, Hydrologist in Charge
John Halquist
Pat Neuman
Mike Anderson
Mike DeWeese
National Operational Hydrologic Remote Sensing Center
Chanhassen, Minnesota:
Tom Carroll, Chief
Eastern North Dakota National Weather Service Office (FGF(
Grand Forks, North Dakota:
Lee Anderson, Meteorologist in Charge
Jim Bellis, Warning Coordination Meteorologist
Wendy Pearson, Service Hydrologist
Mark Ewens, Data Acquisition Program Manager
Phil Schumacher, Science and Operations Officer
City of Grand Forks, North Dakota:
Pat Owens, Mayor
Ken Vien, City Engineer
City of East Grand Forks, Minnesota:
Lynn Strauss, Mayor
Gary Sanders, City Engineer
Frank Ringstad, Fire Department
Grand forks Area Emergency Management Officials:
Doug Qualley, Polk county, Minnesota
Jim Campbell, Grand Forks County, Minnesota
Dick Turner, Minnesota Emergency Management
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Professor Leon Osborne
Minnesota Division of Emergency Management
St. Paul, Minnesota:
Jim Franklin, Director
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, St. Paul District
St. Paul, Minnesota:
Bob Post, Chief of Engineering Division
Edward Eaton, Chief of Water Control Section
Bud Johnson, Chief of Hydraulics and Hydrology Branch
Lisa Hedin, Engineer
National Weather Service Forecast Office
Bismarck, North Dakota:
Jim Fors, Meteorologist in Charge
Charlene Prindiville, Service Hydrologist
Dan Noah, Warning Coordination Meteorologist
Viggo Jensen III, Science and Operations Officer
North Dakota Department of Emergency Management
Bismarck, North Dakota:
Dale Fink
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Bismarck, North Dakota Disaster Field Office:
Daniel Wilcox, Planning Specialist
Jeff Euweme, GIS (graphics)
St. Paul, Minnesota Disaster Field Office:
Peter Jensen, Section Chief for Information and Planning
National Weather Service Weather Coordination Office
Fargo, North Dakota:
Lou Bennet, Official in Charge
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
Fergus Falls, Minnesota:
Terry Lejcher, Area Hydrologist
City of Fargo, North Dakota:
Dennis Walaker, Manager of Operations
Manitoba Department of Natural Resources
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Alf Wartentin, Chief of Water Resources Branch (by telephone)
U.S. Geological Survey
Bismarck District Office:
Russ Harkness, Acting District Chief
Greg Wiche
Douglas Emerson
Steven Norbeck
Media Contacts in Minnesota:
Rebecca Kolls, WCCO-TV Channel 4 Weathercaster (5/27/97)
Dave Dahl, KSTP-TV Channel 5 Weathercaster (5/27/97)
Dave Scahffer, St. Paul Pioneer Press (6/23/97)
Bill Catlin and Euan Kerr, Minnesota Public Radio (6/23/97)
Media Contacts in North Dakota:
Jim Shaw, WDAY-TV, Fargo (5/30/97)
Kevin Dean, KCNN Radio, Grand Forks (6/4/97)
Gerry Gilmour, The Forum, Fargo (6/4/97)
Special thanks to:
Lt. Steven Pape
Lt. Barry Choy
Pilots/Airborne Snow Survey Program

Main Link Categories:
Home | NWS| Contact Us

US Department of Commerce
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
National Weather Service
Office of Hydrologic Development
1325 East West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910

Page Author: OHD webmaster
Page last modified: October 31, 2011
Privacy Policy
About Us
Career Opportunities