Cooperative Observer Awards: 2002

John Campanius Holm Awards

caption below
Erdon Barrie, center, and wife Nina of Conde, SD, receive the John Campanius Holm Award. Presenting the award are NWS Aberdeen, SD Data Acquisition Program Manager (DAPM) Tim Kearns, left, and Hydrometeorological Technician (HMT) Ken Gillepsie. Also in attendance were representatives from South Dakota U.S. Senators Daschle and Johnson and U.S. Congressman Thune's offices.
caption below
The Holm Award is presented to Edwin A. Engel and wife, Loretta, Kansas Cooperative Observers. At the ceremony from left back were Bob Bonack, Central Region DAPM and Kansas District 110 Congressman Dan Johnson. Front Row from left are Eric Depperschmidt from U.S. Congressman Jerry Moran; NWS Dodge City MIC Larry Ruthi; and the Engels. Edwin was nominated for the Holm Award by Dodge City DAPM John F. Orgler.

caption below
Charles Bowar (center) of Kennebec, SD, receives the John Campanius Holm Award. Presenting the award are Glenn Nielsen, HMT, left, and Ray Studnicka, HMT, NWS Aberdeen, SD. Also in attendance were a representative from Congressman Thune's offices and NWS Aberdeen's Meteorologist in Charge (MIC) and DAPM.

caption belowStuart J. Haby, right, Observer at Vanderpool, TX, received the John Campanius Holm Award for exceptional service with the National Weather Service. The award was presented by Joe Arellano Jr, MIC at NWS San Antonio, TX.

caption belowOn a cool but sunny afternoon in Norwood, CO, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Hannigan, right, were presented with the John Campanius Holm Award. MIC Doug Crowley, Grand Junction, NE, presented the award before 18 of the Hannigan's family and friends. The Hannigans were also presented with congratulatory letters from United States Senators Wayne Allard and Ben Nighthorse Campbell. The Hannigans have been taking weather readings on a daily basis since November 1, 1960. caption below
NWS Shreveport, LA, was proud to present a Holm Award to Thomas and Maybell Kellum of Alto, TX.
Pictured from left are Thomas and Maybell, Shreveport DAPM Marion Kuykendall.  Back row are MIC Lee
Harrison and wife Gayle Harrison, Hydrologist Craig
Ross, and HMT Steve Griffin.

caption belowJohn Campanius Holm award recipient Duane Larson was presented his award by Central Region Director Dennis Mccarthy, left, for Duane's generous service at Chester, SD. Duane retired from the Coop program after more than 40 years of dedication. His wife (seated) and daughter were on hand to help celebrate as well as the staff at NWS Sioux Falls, SD.

caption below
Udell "Bud" Williams of North Loup, NE, was presented the Holm Award as well as letters of congratulation from Nebraska U.S. Senators Chuck Hagel and Ben Nelson, Nebraska Governor Mike Johanns and Nebraska District 41 State Senator Vickie McDonald. A Special Service Award was also presented to Cecil Severance, Bud's backup Observer and good friend for several years. Pictured from left are NWS Hastings, NE, HMT Larry Wirth, DAPM Marla Doxey and SOO Rick Ewald. Bud, Cecil, and Central Region CPM Bob Bonack.