Skip Navigation  
NOAA logo - Click to go to the NOAA homepage National Weather Service   NWS logo - Click to go to the NWS homepage
Field Systems Operations Center (OPS2)

Local forecast by
"City, St"
     > OPS24 Home Page > Operational Test >

National Weather Service Regions

The weather found in the United States is varied and complex. In order to more effectively provide meaningful forecasts and to manage such diverse environmental conditions, the National Weather Service is divided into six administrative areas and the National Headquarters located in Silver Spring, Maryland.

The six regions are:

  1. Eastern Region (ER)

  2. Central Region (CR)

  3. Southern Region (SR)

  4. Western Region (WR)

  5. Alaskan Region (AR)

  6. Pacific Region (PR)
Back  Top

        ASOS, AWIPS, CRS, HazCollect, HCN-M, MADIS, RRS, WRIP, Contact Us

US Dept of Commerce
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
National Weather Service
1325 East-West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
OPS24 Web Master's E-mail
Page last modified: 8-May-2007 11:50 AM
Information Quality
Privacy Policy
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
About Us
Career Opportunities